Tools for Intentional Living & Transformation

Four Elements

Leave a comment

In Buddhism, there are four elements of love:

Maitri = loving-kindness
Karuna = compassion
Mudita = joy
Upeksha = freedom

True love in the context of Buddhism means – above all – to be present.

This requires intention and practice which is art of meditation.

Meditation brings our true presence to the here and now creating an opening to embrace the elements true love.

Author: Teresa Nizza

Teresa Nizza is a spiritual director, lay theologian, retreat facilitator, lecturer, volunteer chaplain and co-founder of mainespiritus and Tools for Intentional Living (TILT)©. She is a graduate of the Franciscan School of Theology in Berkeley, CA and she earned a certificate in Spiritual Direction from the Mercy Center for Hope and Healing in Colorado.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s